Friends

On one hand, I was pretty bummed that I wasn’t able to see as many people as I wanted to while I was home.  It’s really difficult to get together, especially over the holidays, in such a short time period.  I was only home for 2 weeks and to complicate matters even further, I have friends spread out everywhere!  I was able to hang out with some good friends of mine though for which I was thankful.

First up is my friend Chris and his wife Victoria, and their corgi Georgie.  This was my first time meeting Victoria and now I understand why Chris married her- she’s super nice!  Chris and I met after I bought my S2000 (he has one too) through a mutual friend of ours, Colin, who I mentioned in one of my previous posts.  We all went to dinner my first night back in the states.  I meant to take a group photo but what do you know… I forgot!  So this is the best I can do.

IMG_3056 (1)

Next up are two good friends of mine who I went to high school with, Chris and Caitlin.  The three of us go way back, and ever since we graduated we meet up every holiday (either Thanksgiving or Christmas, sometimes both) and it’s always the same thing: I go to Chris’s house and say hi to his mom Vanessa and she stuffs my face with brownies, I tell her about my life in a nutshell from the previous year, and then Chris and I go to Caitlin’s house and do the same thing with her mom Wendy and in a nutshell tell her everything we’ve been up to in the past year.  For the first few years we went to Macaroni Grill, last year we went somewhere I can’t remember, and this year we went to a BBQ joint in what used to be a Claim Jumper.  Then we go to a hipster bar in the Tower District and play pool.  It’s a yearly thing.  Again, I forgot to take a group photo, so my creeper shots will have to suffice.

IMG_4523 (1) IMG_4524 (1) IMG_4526 (1)My brother, my sister, and I all had the same third grade teacher growing up, Mrs. Sjostrand.  To make matters even more interesting, my mother was one of the mother aids or whatever you call them back during a time that parents actually did that sort of thing when my brother was in her class, my mother passed away when my sister was in her class, and my dad got remarried when I was in her class.  So she’s always been part of our family growing up and we’ve kept in touch ever since.  Anyway, we all went out and caught up with her.

IMG_4572 (1)

During New Years I was able to meet up with a good friend of mine from College, Ali.  This time, I remembered, well actually Vicky remembered, to take a group photo!  Haha so there’s photographic evidence of this one.  Ali and I met during our freshman year in our design studio and have been friends ever since.  We used to be gym buddies for a solid 2 years, pledged the same fraternity together, and probably hung out 6 days a week for at least 4 years of college.  We, along with other people, used to go to this place called Elephant Bar after we turned 21 because they had $4 Long Island Iced Teas during happy hour, that went on for about a year many Friday nights until they raised the price to $4.50 and we stopped going.

IMG_4671 (1)

I was also able to hang out with another friend of mine, Andy, who was the third leg of the triangle in the Warren-Ali-Andy bromance.  Andy was in architecture too, and also pledged our fraternity at the same time.  Many of my college experiences were shared in our triangle.  My college-post college roommate Richard came out with Andy and we closed out BJ’s.  I met Richard through our fraternity, he pledged the following year.  We lived together during my last year of college and up until I left for Korea.  Totally forgot to take a picture.

This goes for everyone I mentioned, but a sign of true friendship is when you can go without talking to one another for a long time, then get together and start up where you left off.  These are the building blocks lifelong friendships are built off of.

Leave a Reply

