My Version of Thanksgiving

Of course I wanted to fly home for Thanksgiving, but if I stayed for Thanksgiving I could in theory get two more days for Christmas.  That’s because you lose two days every time you travel.  (Not only in terms of physical time spent on the ground, but also for tax purposes)  So I spent Thanksgiving here.

So I guess to start off with, what am I thankful for?  I’m thankful for those around me, namely my family and my girlfriend.  I’m thankful that they support me in my endeavors.  I’m thankful that I have a good job that pays the bills, in such a way that I don’t have to penny crunch every month to make ends meet.  I’m thankful to be out of college, I’m thankful to be alive!  The college part is random, but I’m really, really glad I’m not in school anymore.

I literally can’t fit a turkey in my oven so I cooked a duck instead.

IMG-20141127-WA0005

Yes, I used string from a pair of shorts to tie the legs… Don’t judge.

I literally cannot remember how long I cooked this for… I *think* it was for an hour and a half… Or maybe two hours… at 350.  It came out better than last time for sure.  Also by trussing the legs up like that liquid stayed on the inside.  Not sure if that was a good thing or a bad thing, but I did notice the meat gained some flavor from the onions/garlic I had inside of it.

20141127_132928

Happy Thanksgiving to me!

So I finished that up and had some ribs in the freezer that I pulled out today.  The only reason why I’m mentioning it is because they came out really good… I don’t normally talk myself up like this, but I really outdid myself…

I cut the rack in half, threw on some bbq seasoning, cut up some onion and garlic and threw it in there, put about… I don’t know, between a third and a quarter of a cup of vinegar in foil and threw it in the oven.  The trick is you need to seal the foil tightly- really tightly.  I put it in at under 350, probably closer to 335-340 and cooked it for two hours.  Don’t touch it.  I pulled it out, and it literally wanted to start falling off the bone.  I could have probably pulled the bones out if I wanted to.  I think if I had left it in for another 30 minutes it would have been even more tender, I’ll try that next time.  But the point of the exercise was achieved, and I am a very happy camper.

20141129_122831 20141129_144022 20141129_144952

 

So there you go!

As a side note, I can’t wait to unload this brick of a phone that I have.  I hate my S4.  After I’m signed on for another year here in country I’m going to pick up an iPhone.  They boast (they being Samsung) that their camera is like, a billion megapixels but it can’t focus at all.  A lot of my pictures end up blurry as you can tell.  I hate this thing.  But seriously, going for the iPhone 6 or something…Maybe a 5s.  Don’t know.

One thought on “My Version of Thanksgiving

  1. Looks like you had a good turkey day bud! Ribs were nice too, Keep warm over there and safe travels home for the Holidaze

    Mike D(Still at CHOC)

Leave a Reply

